SHCC Meeting Minutes October 2, 2013

SHCC Meeting Minutes October 2, 2013


Meeting Minutes – October 2, 2013

The regular meeting of the Sugar House Community Council was held on Wednesday, October 2, 2013, at 7:00pm, at the Sprague Library. Trustees in attendance were Benny Keele, Robin Bastar, Shelia O’Driscoll, Joedy Lister, David Mulder, Laurie Bray, Ed Dieringer, Steve Lester, Scott Kisling, Judi Short, Amy Barry, Annalisa Holcombe, Maggie Shaw, Russ Callister, Cabot Nelson, Jack Perry, Michael G. Kavanagh, and Larry Migliacio. Amy Barry served as chair and Cabot Nelson as secretary. The trustees noted as excused were Carole Straughn, Matt Kierkegaard, Sally Barraclough, Christopher Thomas, Deb Henry and Topher Horman.

Call to order at 7:00pm. Cabot Nelson gave his secretary report. Motion to approve the minutes of the August meeting passed on a voice vote with an amendment noting the excused absence of Michael G. Kavanagh.

Robin Bastar gave his treasurer report.

Police and Fire departments report

SLPD Detective Willis gave a report on the police department.


The ballots were distributed at 7:07pm for the SHCC election.

Public comments

George Chapman noted SLC’s purchase of a parcel on Red Butte Creek at 1300 East Harvard.

Committee reports

Judi Short reported for the Land Use and Zoning committee.

Laurie Bray reported for the Arts and Cultural committee.

Community groups and projects

Annalisa Holcombe reported for the SH Merchants Association.

Special presentations

Michael Cox of STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Math) presented his idea for an educational program.

Elizabeth Buehler of Plan Salt Lake presented a primer about her group.

Community and City Presentations

Michael G. Kavanagh spoke in lieu of Jaimi Haig of Best Friends Animal Society of Utah.

Michael G. Kavanagh introduced Kelly Ballard and Emily Marron of Second Hand Chic at 2006 South 900 East who spoke about their store.


The poll was closed 8:07pm for the SHCC election. The election committee of Benny Keele, Cabot Nelson, and Annalisa Holcombe convened beyond the main group to tabulate the ballots.

City Presentations

Soren Simonsen gave updates about Salt Lake City Council.

Dolly Rauh reported on library events.

Shawn McDonough gave a report for the Mayor’s Office.



Maggie Shaw as chair

Judi Short as 1st vice chair

Scott Kisling as 2nd vice chair

Steve Lester as 3rd vice chair

(Scott Kisling’s and Steve Lester’s vote count was a tie. The result was settled in a coin toss.)

Robin Bastar as treasurer

Sally Barraclough as secretary.


Meeting adjourned at 8:47pm

Landon Clark